Book Lists for Kids:
If you like Big Nate, you may like …

[Printable book list]

Origami Yoda series (J FIC ANGLEBER)
Book 1: The Strange Case of Origami Yoda
Dwight talks to his classmates via an origami finger puppet of Yoda. Origami Yoda predicts the date of a pop quiz, guesses who stole the classroom Shakespeare bust, and saves a classmate from popularity-crushing embarrassment with some well-timed advice. But how can Yoda can be so smart when Dwight himself seems so clueless? With contributions from his puzzled classmates, he assembles the case file that forms this novel.

Star Jumper: Journal of a cardboard genius (J FIC ASCH)
Alex is so annoyed by his brother Jonathan that he designs and builds his own spacecraft to get himself to another planet! He makes it out of cardboard, duct tape, and a bunch of other stuff and calls it the Star Jumper, but his big problem is getting his brother to leave him alone so he can take off in it!

Justin Case series (J FIC VAIL)
Book 1: Justin Case: School, drool, and other daily disasters
Justin Case is a third-grader who has funny and strange things happen to him, but who is relatable because he has normal problems, too.

Dragonbreath series (J FIC VERNON)
Book 1: Dragonbreath
Danny Dragonbreath and his friend Wendell get an up-close underwater tour of the Sargasso Sea from Danny's sea-serpent cousin, encountering giant squid and mako sharks — and learn about standing up to bullies in the process.

EllRay Jakes series 9J FIC WARNER)
Book 1: EllRay Jakes is Not a Chicken
Eight-year-old EllRay's father has promised a family trip to Disneyland if EllRay can stay out of trouble for a week, but not defending himself against Jared, the class bully, proves to be a real challenge.

Frankie Pickle series (J FIC WIGHT)
Book 1: Frankie Pickle and the Closet of Doom
Fourth-grader Frankie Piccolini has a vivid imagination when it comes to cleaning his disastrously messy room, but eventually even he decides that it is just too dirty.

Hank Zipzer, the mostly true confessions of the world's best underachiever (J FIC WINKLER)
Book 1: Niagara Falls, or Does It?
Fourth-graders Hank, Ashley, and Frankie are excitedly preparing for a magic show at the Rock 'N Bowl when Hank's creative alternative to an English essay lands him in detention and grounded the week of the show.