Book Lists for Kids:
If you like Diary of a Wimpy Kid, you may like …

[Printable book list]

Star Jumper: Journal of a cardboard genius (J FIC ASCH)
Alex is so annoyed by his brother Jonathan that he designs and builds his own spacecraft to get himself to another planet! He makes it out of cardboard, duct tape, and a bunch of other stuff and calls it the Star Jumper, but his big problem is getting his brother to leave him alone so he can take off in it!

My Weird School series (J FIC GUTMAN)
Book 1: Miss Daisy is Crazy!
Miss Daisy's unusual teaching methods surprise her second grade students, especially reluctant learner A.J.

Underwhere series (J FIC HALE)
Book 1: Prince of Underwhere
When Zeke, his twin sister Stephanie, their neighbor Hector, and Hector's cat Fitz slide into the world of Underwhere, Zeke is hailed as a prince who will, according to an ancient prophecy, free the Undies from the evil UnderLord's rule by finding and destroying his throne.

Middle School is Worse than Meatloaf: A year told through stuff (J FIC HOLM)
Told entirely through notes, grocery receipts, and a vast array of other items, this story follows Ginny as she accidentally dyes her hair pink, throws live frogs in class, and loses the lead role in ballet to her ex-best friend.

Schooled (J FIC KORMAN)
Homeschooled by his hippie grandmother, Capricorn (Cap) Anderson has never watched television, tasted a pizza, or even heard of a wedgie. But when his grandmother lands in the hospital, Cap is forced to move in with a guidance counselor and attend the local middle school. While Cap knows a lot about tie-dyeing and Zen Buddhism, no education could prepare him for the politics of public school.

Alvin Ho series (J FIC LOOK)
Book 1: Alvin Ho allergic to girls, school, and other scary things
A young boy in Concord, Massachusetts, who loves superheroes and comes from a long line of brave Chinese farmer-warriors, wants to make friends, but first he must overcome his fear of everything.

Stink series (J FIC MCDONALD)
Book 1: Stink: The incredible shrinking kid
The shortest kid in the second grade, James Moody, also known as Stink, learns all about the shortest president of the United States, James Madison, when they celebrate Presidents' Day at school.