Electronic Resources by Category

Auto Repair
Biographies
Boats
Brain Fitness
Business
Citizenship
Digital Books
Do-It-Yourself (DIY)
Education
Employment
Financial
General Information
Genealogy and History
Government
Health and Medicine

Government
Health and Medicine
Homework (Resources K-12 students)
Languages
Law
Literature
Maps
Music
Religion
Repair
Recursos en Español
Science and Technology
Texas
Librarian's Reference Shelf


Auto Repair

Title Description
Chilton's Online Auto Repair Auto tear-downs provided in step-by-step procedures, engine, chassis, electrical, drive train, routine maintenance, suspension work and much more. Includes photos, illustrations and repair procedures.

Biographies

Title Description
Contemporary Authors Biographical and bibliographical information and references for more than 125,000 American and international authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Full text critical essays on more than 800 contemporary authors and their works, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.
Current Biographies Illustrated Full-text database offers the content of Current Biography in searchable, electronic format. The views of the subject are offered, along with the commentaries of journalists and colleagues.
Dictionary of Literary Biography More than 12,000 biographical and full-text critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Literature Resource Center Full-text literature criticism, biographies, bibliographies, and work overviews covering authors from every genre, time period and discipline.
Scribner Writers More than 2,400 original and detailed biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of approximately 1,750 important authors from around the world.

Boats

Title Description
Small Engine Repair Reference Center Information on routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly). Covers marine/boat motors as well as all-terrain vehicles; generators and other small engines; motorycles; outdoor power equipment; personal water craft, snowmobiles; and tractors.

Brain Fitness

Title Description
BrainHQ BrainHQ provides fun and challenging exercises and games designed to help you improve attention, brain speed, memory, people skills, navigation, and intelligence. You can chose between a personalized training program that helps you select exercises that are the best fit for your needs and skills or you can develop your own program.

Business

Title Description
Business Abstracts with Full Text Offering a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals, this comprehensive database is an ideal resource for those looking to conduct research or find information in any area of business.
Business Search Academic journals, SWOT analyses, trade publications, industry profiles, company profiles, market research reports and product reviews.
Business Source Complete Full-text journals in all disciplines of business. Non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Economía y Negocios More than 70,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, for more than 300 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere.
Regional Business News Content from 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Small Business Reference Center A wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.

Citizenship

Title Description
ProCitizen ProCitizen is an online course to prepare New Americans for the civics, reading, and writing parts of the USCIS Naturalization Test. Includes 100 instructional videos in both English and Spanish.

Digital Books

Title Description
eBooks on EBSCOhost Includes titles from the world's leading business, technology, trade, reference, academic, and scholarly publishers. Ebooks may be viewed on a computer but not downloaded.
eBook Downloads from OverDrive Downloadable ebooks from OverDrive to your computer, tablet, smartphone, e-reader or other portable device. Visit the website's "Getting Started" section on the left-hand side for instructions.

Do-It-Yourself (DIY)

Title Description
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center Offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World and many more.
Home Improvement Reference Center Full-text content from leading home improvement magazines not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects.

Education

Title Description
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) Education literature and resources.
LearningExpress Library 3.0 Academic and career-oriented resources to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes and re-entry into the workforce. Access more than 800 online practice tests, including GED, SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT and MCAT.
Professional Development Collection Full text from nearly 520 education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles and more than 200 educational reports.
Teacher Reference Center Index Indexes and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines.
TOPIC Search A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms
Universal Class A growing course catalog of over 500 online classes spanning alternative medicine, the arts, business, career training, computers, finance, GED practice, health, parenting, science, teaching, writing and much more.
Vocational and Career Collection For students in high school, community college, trade institutions and for the general public. Full-text coverage for nearly 350 trade- and industry-related periodicals.

Employment

Title Description
LearningExpress Library 3.0 Academic and career-oriented resources to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes and re-entry into the workforce. Access more than 800 online practice tests, including GED, SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT and MCAT.

Financial

Title Description
Morningstar Investment Research Center Search comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds.
Please note that the login for this database is case sensitive so you will need to capitalize the letters in your library card number.

General Information

Title Description
All Gale Databases Search auto repair manuals, biographies, health information, legal forms and literature research.
All Ebsco Databases Ranges from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-displinary full-text database.
Britannica Encyclopedia Comprehensive encyclopedia providing articles at child, teen, and adult reading levels. The database includes videos and photos and links to external resources and primary sources.
eBooks on EBSCOhost Includes titles from the world's leading business, technology, trade, reference, academic, and scholarly publishers. Ebooks may be viewed on a computer but not downloaded.
Fuente Académica PDF full-text content in Spanish for more than 330 scholarly publications — including Revista de Arquitectura, Estudios Sobre Educación, Revista de Estudios Hispánicos, Comunicación y Sociedad, Revista de Ciencia Política, Revista Historia, and more.
Funk and Wagnall's New Encyclopedia More than 25,000 records covering an array of topics.
MasterFile Premier Includes nearly 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
Newspaper Source Cover-to-cover full text for 35 national & international newspapers; selected full text for more than 375 regional newspapers; and full text television & radio news transcripts from ABC, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
TOPIC Search A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms

Genealogy and History

Title Description
American Indian Histories and Culture Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
The American West The Graff Collection at the Newberry Library in Chicago offers a searchable mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources documenting the history of the American West.
Bibliography of Native North Americans Bibliographical database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life with more than 122,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents.
Handbook of Texas A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.
Heritage Quest More than 25,000 family and local histories; the complete U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1940; the Periodical Source Index (PERSI); the Revolutionary War Pension Applications & Bounty Land Warrant Applications; and the Freedman's Bank Records.
The Portal to Texas History The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps More than 660,000 large-scale maps scanned from microfilm at the Library of Congress of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
Texas Reference Center More than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure.
World History Collection Content from 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals, from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East covering a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, and more.

Government

Title Description
Military and Government Collection Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Health and Medicine

Information provided in these databases should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

Title Description
Alt HealthWatch Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
Health Reference Center Academic Provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
Health Source: Consumer Edition Access to more than 130 consumer health magazines plus health-related pamphlets, health reference books and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Nearly 550 scholarly full text medical journals. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MedicLatina (Spanish) A Spanish-language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers.
MEDLINE Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Natural & Alternative Treatments Complementary and alternative medicine database designed specifically for the consumer health researcher. Contains more than 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.
Salud en Español (Spanish) Provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness.

Homework (Resources for K-12 students)

Title Description
Kids Search For elementary/middle school students
MAS Ultra: School Edition For high school students. Contains full text for more than 500 popular high school magazines as well as reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps & flags and color PDFs.
Middle Search Plus For middle school students. Full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines.
Primary Search For elementary school students. Full text for nearly 70 popular magazines and a variety of reference materials such as the Encyclopedia of Animals and the American Heritage Children's Dictionary as well as image collection.
Searchasaurus For elementary and middle school students.
Student Research Center For students in Grades 1-12.
Vocational and Career Collection For students in high school, community college, trade institutions and for the general public. Full-text coverage for nearly 350 trade- and industry-related periodicals.

Languages

Title Description
Pronunciator Courses for 80 languages with 22 months of guided instruction per course. Guided instruction includes live classes, music with lyrics, videos, citizenship classes in English and Spanish, and 6 week immersion course for frontline healthcare providers.
Transparent Language Online Teaches 80+ languages; everything from Albanian to Zulu, using technology such as videos, social media and mobile apps. Also teaches English as a Foreign Language (EFL) to non-native speakers, such as EFL for Spanish-speakers, EFL for Vietnamese speakers, etc.

Law

Title Description
Legal Collection A collection of scholarly, peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies covering law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics and the environment.
Legal Forms Includes business, personal, litigation and federal forms. Covers hundreds of legal subjects and issues for official, state specific, federal, business, personal, real estate and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

Literature

Title Description
20th Century Poetry (American and English) Twentieth-Century English Poetry incorporates the works of 285 of the most widely studied poets of the British Isles and beyond. Twentieth-Century American Poetry includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.
Book Review Digest Plus Book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Retrospective coverage as far back as 1983. More than 270,000 full-text reviews from more than 1,400 American, British, and Canadian periodicals. Suggests grade ranges for children's books.
Contemporary Authors Biographical and bibliographical information and references for more than 125,000 American and international authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Full text critical essays on more than 800 contemporary authors and their works, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.
Dictionary of Literary Biography More than 12,000 biographical and full-text critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Essay and General Literature Index Cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences.
Humanities Full Text Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
Literary Reference Center Features author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays, literary reference books and monographs, literary magazines and journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
Literature Resource Center Full-text literature criticism, biographies, bibliographies, and work overviews covering authors from every genre, time period and discipline.
Play Index Covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. Includes new editions and translations as well as descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.
The Reader's Advisor Online Provides guidance to find read-alikes, related genres, and the order of books in a series. It also covers nonfiction and fiction books and has more than 125,000 titles.
Scribner Writers More than 2,400 original and detailed biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of approximately 1,750 important authors from around the world.
Short Story Index An essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure. Searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique and source, or by any combination of terms.
Twayne's Authors Series Literary criticism offering in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and the development of literary genres.
WorldCat The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 86 million records representing the collections of more than 10,000 libraries, over 400 languages, and all types of materials ranging from stone tablets to electronic books.

Maps

Title Description
MasterFile Premier Includes nearly 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
MAS Ultra: School Edition For high school students. Contains full text for more than 500 popular high school magazines as well as reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps & flags and color PDFs.
Middle Search Plus For middle school students. Full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines.
Primary Search For elementary school students. Full text for nearly 70 popular magazines and a variety of reference materials such as the Encyclopedia of Animals and the American Heritage Children's Dictionary as well as image collection.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps More than 660,000 large-scale maps scanned from microfilm at the Library of Congress of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.

Music

Title Description
Naxos Music Library Stream free music over your computer from a library of nearly 2 million tracks from genres including classical, jazz, gospel, world, folk, blues, and more. Please note:To access this database, you will need to input your library card number into the "Enter passcode" box.

Religion

Title Description
Religion & Philosophy Collection Full text journals content covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Recursos en Español

Title Description
EBSCOhost Español Bases de datos en español que cubrir información general, negocios, información médica y todos los campos militares y del gobierno.
Economía y Negocios Más de 70.000 registros, que datan de la década de 1980, dar cobertura a más de 300 periódicos en español y portugués, publicado en Argentina, Brasil, Chile, Colombia, España, Estados Unidos y otros países.
Fuente Académica Contenido en texto completo en español de más de 330 publicaciones científicas: Revista de Arquitectura incluyendo, Estudios Sobre Educación, Revista de Estudios Hispánicos, Sociedad Comunicacióny, Revista de Ciencia Política, Historia Revista, y mucho más.
MedicLatina Una colección en español de la investigación médica y las revistas de investigación publicadas por el reconocido editoriales médicas de América Latina.
ProCitizen (Expañol) Preparación para obtener la ciudadanía estadounidense.
Pronunciator (Español) Cursos para 80 idiomas diferentes. Las clases en vivo, vídeos con subtítulos, música con letras, y clases de ciudadanía en inglé y español.
Salud en Español Proporciona informes completos basados en la evidencia y hojas informativas en español sobre todos los aspectos de la salud de los consumidores y el bienestar.

Repair

Title Description
Chilton's Online Auto Repair Auto tear-downs provided in step-by-step procedures, engine, chassis, electrical, drive train, routine maintenance, suspension work and much more. Includes photos, illustrations and repair procedures.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center Information on routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly). Covers all-terrain vehicles; marine/boat motors; generators and other small engines; motorycles; outdoor power equipment; personal water craft, snowmobiles; and tractors.

Science and Technology

Title Description
Agricola Bibliographic records from the U.S. Department Agriculture's National Agricultural Library; more than 2.5 million citations (comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture).
Computer Source Features nearly 300 full text journals and magazines covering topics such as computers, telecommunications, electronics and the Internet.
GreenFILE Index Multi-disciplinary information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment via scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
Information Science and Technology Abstracts Academic research on classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more.
Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts Abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts Indexes more than 560 journals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection Nearly 600 full-text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals, covering emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Science and Technology Collection Scholarly articles on topics such as aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science.
Science Online Provides science, math, and technology information articles. Watch videos and animations or hear text read aloud.

Texas

Title Description
Handbook of Texas A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps More than 660,000 large-scale maps scanned from microfilm at the Library of Congress of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
Texas Reference Center More than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure.
Library of Texas Searches through the catalogs of more than 100 public libraries, 60 academic libraries and 40 online databases. A service of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

Librarian's Reference Shelf

Title Description
Directory of Open Access Journals Indexing, abstracting, and full-text access for selected international scholarly journals in a wide variety of science and the humanities.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts Indexes more than 560 journals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Library of Texas Searches through the catalogs of more than 100 public libraries, 60 academic libraries and 40 online databases. A service of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Serials Directory Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.
WorldCat The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 86 million records representing the collections of more than 10,000 libraries, over 400 languages, and all types of materials ranging from stone tablets to electronic books.