Skip Navigation
Be sure to check out Kanopy Streaming Video located under "Electronic Resources" for award-winning movies and documentaries!

Adult Book Lists: It Happened in Texas

[Printable book list]

Susan Wittig Albert / MYS ALBERT
China Bayles series
Thyme of Death
Witches' Bane
Hangman's Root
Rosemary Remembered
Rueful Death
Love Lies Bleeding
Chile Death
Lavender Lies
Mistletoe Man
Indigo Dying
A Dilly of a Death
Dead Man's Bones
Bleeding Hearts
Spanish Dagger
Nightshade (also in large print)
Wormwood (also in large print)
Holly Blues
Mourning Gloria
Cat's Claw

Sandra Brown / FIC BROWN
Texas! series
These stories focus on the two brothers and one sister that work together to bring their family's business back from the edge and maybe find love in the process.
Texas! Lucky
Texas! Chase
Texas! Sage

James Lee Burke / MYS BURKE
Hackberry Holland series
When Hackberry Holland decides to run for a congressional seat, he comes into conflict not just with the individuals around him, but also his past. In the later two books, Hackberry is the sheriff of a Southwest Texas border town, and he faces dangers he may not expect.
Lay Down My Sword and Shield
Rain Gods
Feast Day of Fools

Rachel Caine / YP FIC CAINE
Morganville Vampire series
In Morganville, Texas, it is wise not to go out after dark. Claire Danvers finds out that her town holds more secrets than she suspected and she gets caught up in the middle.
The Morganville Vampires (Books 1 and 2)
The Dead Girls' Dance (Book 2)
Midnight Alley (Book 3)
The Morganville Vampires: Volume II (Books 3 and 4)
Lord of Misrule
Carpe Corpus
The Morganville Vampires: Volume III (Books 5 and 6)
Fade Out
Kiss of Death
The Morganville Vampires: Volume 4 (Books 7 and 8)
Ghost Town
Bite Club
Last Breath (also on audiobook)
Black Dawn

Rhiannon Frater / SF FRATER
As the World Dies series
Katie and Jenni started the day out like any other before they had to run from the zombie hoard. Now the two will have to work together to battle the hoard and survive as the world dies.
The First Days
Fighting to Survive

Kimberly Frost / FIC FROST
Southern Witch series
Tammy Jo Trask in Duvall, Texas, seems to have missed out on the family magic. When a crisis comes up, she will need help learning to be a witch from Bryn Lyons (the one her family warned her about).
Would-Be Witch
Barely Bewitched
Halfway Hexed

Tim Green / FIC GREEN
Casey Jordan series
Casey Jordan is a young Texas attorney and she has to work on finding justice for those who need it, even if it means she puts herself in harm's way.
The Letter of the Law
Above the Law (also in large print)
False Convictions

James L. Hime / MYS HIME
Jeremiah Spur series
In Washington County in Texas, retired Texas Ranger Jeremiah Spur can't seem to let go of his crime busting ways. He works with local law enforcement to catch the bad guys.
The Night of the Dance
Scared Money
Where Armadillos Go to Die

Elmer Kelton / WES KELTON
Texas Rangers Trilogy
Rusty Shannon becomes a Texas Ranger to search for the people who killed his adoptive father. He is joined later by Andy Pickard (or Badger Boy). The two work together to keep the lawless contained.
The Buckskin Line
Badger Boy
The Way of the Coyote
Lone Star Rising (contains all three stories)

Larry McMurtry / FIC MCMURTRY
Lonesome Dove series
On the Texas frontier, Texas Rangers Augustus McCrae and Woodrow Call deal with criminals, Comanches, Apaches, and many other obstacles that come with keeping the frontier safe.
Lonesome Dove
Streets of Laredo
Dead Man's Walk
Comanche Moon

Fern Michaels / FIC MICHAELS
Texas series
Beginning with Billie Ames, this series is the saga of the wealthy Coleman family based in Austin. The members of this family struggle with being a part of the "Texas Rich" and dealing with each other.
Texas Rich
Texas Heat
Texas Fury
Texas Sunrise

Marsha Moyer / FIC MOYER
Lucy Hatch series
Lucy Hatch thought that her life would stay a certain way, until the day she becomes a widow. Then she ends up back in her hometown of Mooney, Texas. Lucy feels she has never really lived until now, so she plans to live it up.
The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch
Heartbreak Town
Return of the Stardust Cowgirl

Jodi Thomas / FIC THOMAS
Whispering Mountain series
These stories feature the Whispering Mountain Ranch and McMurray family and the challenges they face in life and in love.
Texas Rain
Texas Princess
Tall, Dark, and Texan
The Lone Texan
Texas Blue (also in large print)
Wild Texas Rose

Wife Lottery series
In small Cedar Point, Texas women are raffled off in the Wife Lottery. Will these women find happiness with the men who happen to win their hands?
The Texan's Wager
When a Texan Gambles
A Texan's Luck
The Texan's Reward

Lisa Wingate / FIC WINGATE
Daily, Texas series
The famous and wayfaring come to little Daily, Texas in the form of a producer of the show "American Megastar," an actor in an upcoming movie, and an evacuee from a hurricane. These individuals (and the people of the town) may never be the same.
Talk of the Town
Word Gets Around
Never Say Never

© {{YEAR}} Moore Memorial Public Library

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM