Skip Navigation

Book Lists for Kids:
If you like The Spiderwick Chronicles, you may like...

[Printable book list]

The Land of Elyon series (J FIC CARMAN)
Book 1: The Dark Hills Divide
When she finds the key to a secret passageway leading out of the walled city of Bridewell, twelve-year-old Alexa realizes her lifelong wish to explore the mysterious forests and mountains that lie beyond the wall.

Artemis Fowl series (J FIC COLFER)
Book 1: Artemis Fowl
When a twelve-year-old evil genius tries to restore his family fortune by capturing a fairy and demanding a ransom in gold, the fairies fight back with magic, technology, and a particularly nasty troll.

Underland Chronicles (J FIC COLLINS)
Book 1: Gregor the Overlander
When Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland, where spiders, rats, cockroaches coexist uneasily with humans. A prophecy foretells that Gregor has a role to play in the Underland's uncertain future. Gregor wants no part of it -- until he realizes it's the only way to solve the mystery of his father's disappearance.

Inkheart series (J FIC FUNKE)
Book 1: Inkheart
Twelve-year-old Meggie learns that her father, who repairs and binds books for a living, can "read" fictional characters to life when one of those characters abducts them and tries to force him into service.

The Eidolon chronicles series (J FIC JOHNSON)
Book 1: The Secret Country
Having learned from a talking cat that he and his sisters are the half-elfin royalty of a parallel world called Eidolon, twelve-year old Ben Arnold attempts to stop his evil uncle from smuggling magical creatures between the two worlds to sell on the black market.

Children of the Red King series (J AD FIC NIMMO)
Book 1: Midnight for Charlie Bone
Charlie Bone has discovered an unusual gift â?? he can hear people in photographs talking! His scheming aunts decide to send him to Bloor Academy, a school for geniuses where he uses his gifts to discover the truth despite all the dangers that lie ahead.

Fablehaven series (J FIC MULL)
Book 1: Fablehaven
When Kendra and Seth go to stay at their grandparents' estate, they discover that it is a sanctuary for magical creatures and that a battle between good and evil is looming.

© {{YEAR}} Moore Memorial Public Library

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM