Skip Navigation
Be sure to check out Kanopy Streaming Video located under "Electronic Resources" for award-winning movies and documentaries!
How do I get a library card?

Anyone who resides in the State of Texas may obtain a free library card at Moore Memorial Public Library. Children under 14 must have a parent or legal guardian sign their library card application. Requests for new library cards must be made in person at the library circulation desk. Applicants will be asked to fill out a library card application and to show as proof of their current address:

  • A valid Texas driver’s license or identification card with a current address

    or one of the following:

  • Any piece of mail addressed to the applicant that has been received at their current address
  • A printed utility bill or statement that includes the applicant’s current address

For more information, please call 409-643-5975.

Renewing checked-out items
Renewals may be done by phone at 409-643-5975, or by logging into the library catalog. You must enter your 14-digit library card number (PMML0000XXXXXX) and the pin number, which is your birth date (MMDDYYYY).

Placing a hold
To place a hold, you can call us at 409-643-5975 or log into the library catalog online and do it yourself. You must enter your 14-digit library card number (PMML0000XXXXXX) and the pin number, which is your birth date (MMDDYYYY).

Replacement library cards

Replacement library cards cost $2. If the patron does not have a current address on file with the library, they must verify their new address by any of the methods listed under the “How do I get a library card?” section of this web page. If you have lost a library card or believe it may have been stolen, please notify us immediately and we will disable the card.

Refunds

Refunds (for materials paid for and then found) may be made within one year of the date indicated on the borrower's receipt. Refunds may be made when the lost item is accompanied by the original receipt. However, processing charges and fines are non-refundable.

Fines/Loan period
 Type of Material  Loan Period  Fines
 Books  3 weeks  $0.10 per day
 Magazines  1 week  $0.10 per day
 DVDs (feature films)  2 days  $1 per day
 TV DVDs (television series)  1 week  $1 per day
 Nonfiction DVDs  1 week  $1 per day
 Audiobooks  3 weeks  $0.10 per day
 Interlibrary Loan  varies  $1 per day
Patrons can check out up to 10 audiobooks and six DVDs at a time. However, within that limit you can have no more than four TV DVDs or four new DVDs of any sort. TV DVDs, which check out for a week, cannot be renewed.

What kinds of materials can I check out?
Please note patrons can check out up to four books per subject (i.e. math), four books per author and up to six entertainment DVDs at a time.

  • Print materials: Popular fiction, non-fiction, children's materials, magazines, large print books, Cliffs Notes, dictionaries (assorted languages), language learning handbooks, study guides (i.e. GED, ASVAB).
  • Audiobooks: Fiction and non-fiction audiobooks on disc
  • DVDs: Self-help, educational, travel, exercise, children's videos, entertainment films, television series and mini-series.
  • Books in Spanish: Fiction and non-fiction books.

Returning materials

Materials can be returned inside, at the the library book drop at the Circulation Desk, or outside at the drop box located against the west wall of the library.

Lost or damaged library items

Patrons who lose or fail to return items that are checked out to them, or turn in items that are damaged beyond repair will be assessed a $5 processing fee on top of the cost of replacement of the item. Replacement items purchased by the patron cannot be accepted in lieu of payment.

© {{YEAR}} Moore Memorial Public Library

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM