Skip Navigation
MEDITATION, DIY TAKE-HOME CRAFTS, BIG ANNOUNCEMENT FOR MAY!
Electronic Resources by Category

Auto Repair

Chilton's Online Auto Repair
Auto tear-downs provided in step-by-step procedures, engine, chassis, electrical, drive train, routine maintenance, suspension work and much more. Includes photos, illustrations and repair procedures.

Biographies

Literary Reference Center
Features author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays, literary reference books and monographs, literary magazines and journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.

Boats

Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Information on routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly). Covers marine/boat motors as well as all-terrain vehicles; generators and other small engines; motorcycles; outdoor power equipment; personal water craft, snowmobiles; and tractors.

Business

Business Abstracts with Full Text
Offering a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals, this comprehensive database is an ideal resource for those looking to conduct research or find information in any area of business.

Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Reference Center
Offers cover-to-cover indexing for journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications, all with a strong focus on BC/DR and closely aligned issues. It features hundreds of thousands of additional BC/DR-focused articles, benchmarks and best practices selected from hundreds of leading trade and industry publications.

Business Source Complete
Full-text journals in all disciplines of business. Non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Regional Business News
Content from 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Small Business Reference Center
A wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.

Citizenship

ProCitizen
ProCitizen is an online course to prepare New Americans for the civics, reading, and writing parts of the USCIS Naturalization Test. Includes 100 instructional videos in both English and Spanish.

Digital Books

BiblioBoard
A collection of over 2,000 e-Books from the E-Read Texas Unlimited Collection, including popular non-fiction such as travel, nutrition and health, and gardening, along with adult and young adult fiction from publishers such as Orca Book Publishers, Gibbs Smith, North Star Editions, Pelican Book Group, Motivational Press, and Beaufort Books.

e-Book Downloads from OverDrive
Downloadable e-Books from OverDrive to your computer, tablet, smartphone, e-reader or other portable device. Visit the website's "Getting Started" section on the left-hand side for instructions.

EBSCO e-Book Collection (formerly NetLibrary TexShare collection)
More than 27,000 e-Books are available for browsing, searching, and virtual check-out. TexShare's e-Book collection includes titles from the world's leading business, technology, trade, reference, academic, and scholarly publishers. Search by title, author, keyword, publisher, publication date, or ISBN number.

Do-It-Yourself (DIY)

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World and many more.

Home Improvement Reference Center
Full-text content from leading home improvement magazines not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects.

 

Education

Educational Administration Abstracts
A bibliographic research database that covers areas related to educational administration including educational leadership, educational management and educational research.

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)
A database providing more than one million records available from the Education Resources Information Center, a robust source of educational literature.

LearningExpress Library 3.0
Academic and career-oriented resources to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes and re-entry into the workforce. Access more than 800 online practice tests, including GED, SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT and MCAT.  (Users will need to create own sign-on and password to access site.)

Professional Development Collection
Full text from nearly 520 education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles and more than 200 educational reports.

Teacher Reference Center
Indexes and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines.

Teaching Books.net
An easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

TOPIC Search
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms

Universal Class
A growing course catalog of over 500 online classes spanning alternative medicine, the arts, business, career training, computers, finance, GED practice, health, parenting, science, teaching, writing and much more.  (Users will need to create own sign-on and password to access site.)

Vocational and Career Collection
For students in high school, community college, trade institutions and for the general public. Full-text coverage for nearly 350 trade- and industry-related periodicals.

Employment

LearningExpress Library 3.0
Academic and career-oriented resources to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes and re-entry into the workforce. Access more than 800 online practice tests, including GED, SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT and MCAT.  (Users will need to create own sign-on and password to access site.)

 

General Information

All Gale Databases
Search auto repair manuals, biographies, health information, legal forms and literature research.

All EBSCO Databases
Ranges from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.

Academic Search Complete
A leading resource for scholarly research offering an enormous collection of full-text journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

Credo Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Explora for Public Libraries
An easy-to-search interface for public library patrons looking for magazine and newspaper articles, books and other reference materials on a variety of topics

Family Studies Abstracts
Bibliographic records covering topics relevant to family studies such as marriage, divorce and family dynamics.

Fuente Académica
PDF full-text content in Spanish for more than 330 scholarly publications — including Revista de Arquitectura, Estudios Sobre Educación, Revista de Estudios Hispánicos, Comunicación y Sociedad, Revista de Ciencia Política, Revista Historia, and more.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for elementary and middle school students.

OVIC is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, and audio files.

MasterFILE Complete
Includes nearly 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.

Newspaper Source Plus
A resource offering cover-to-cover full text for U.S., international and regional newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts from major networks.

Race Relations Abstracts
Contains abstracts for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to ethnic and racial studies.

Sustainability Reference Center
Full-text content relevant to many integral areas of sustainability initiative management such as recycling, renewable energy, resource conservation and more.

TOPIC Search
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms

Genealogy and History

Ancestry.com (in-house library use only)
A searchable databases of over 600 million names, as well as specialized databases, including census images. Ancestry.com is available to library users for in-house library access only. Please visit the Reference Desk for more information.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
Bibliographical database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life with more than 122,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States   ***NEW DATABASE***
A resource for open primary source documents that includes historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more, marking the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom.  Resource supports student studies from middle school, all the way to college and independent researchers.  Includes the following topics; 1.  Resistance to Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790 - 1860), 2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861 - 1877), 3. Jim Crow Era to the Great Depression (1878 - 1932), 4. The New Deal and World War II (1933 - 1945), 5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946 - 1975), and 6. The Contemporary Era (1976 - 2000).

Handbook of Texas
A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.

Heritage Quest
More than 25,000 family and local histories; the complete U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1940; the Periodical Source Index (PERSI); the Revolutionary War Pension Applications & Bounty Land Warrant Applications; and the Freedman's Bank Records.

Newspaper Archive    ***NEW DATABASE***
Explore billions of newspaper articles from all over the world. Find births, deaths, news and more! Powerful search tools to help you find exactly who or what you are looking for. 

The Portal to Texas History
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Digital Sanborn® Maps (1867-1970) delivers detailed property and land-use records that provide an unparalleled picture of life in American towns and cities. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and often include details on construction materials and building use; and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood.

Texas Reference Center
More than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure.

Government

Military and Government Collection
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Health and Medicine

Information provided in these databases should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Alt HealthWatch
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource that provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Access to more than 130 consumer health magazines plus health-related pamphlets, health reference books and more.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nearly 550 scholarly full text medical journals. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

MedicLatina (Spanish)
A Spanish-language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers.

MEDLINE
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Natural & Alternative Treatments
Complementary and alternative medicine database designed specifically for the consumer health researcher. Contains more than 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.

Salud en Español (Spanish)
Provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness.

Kids & Teens (Homework Help & e-Books)

Explora for Elementary
An easy-to-use search interface for K-5 students looking for magazine and newspaper articles, books and encyclopedias on a variety of topics, such as animals, art, music, geography, language arts, math, science and social studies.

Explora for High School
An easy-to-use search interface for students in grades 6-12 looking for magazine and newspaper articles, books, informational texts, primary sources, multimedia and more on a variety of curriculum-related topics.

MAS Complete
For high school students. Contains full text for more than 500 popular high school magazines as well as reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps & flags and color PDFs.

Middle Search Plus
For middle school students. Full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines.

Primary Search
For elementary school students. Full text for nearly 70 popular magazines and a variety of reference materials such as the Encyclopedia of Animals and the American Heritage Children's Dictionary as well as image collection.

Tumblebooks
Offers over 1100 titles for grades K-6 in fiction and nonfiction. Includes graphic novels, talking picture books, read-alongs and videos.

Vocational and Career Collection
For students in high school, community college, trade institutions and for the general public. Full-text coverage for nearly 350 trade- and industry-related periodicals.

Languages

Transparent Language Online
Teaches 80+ languages; everything from Albanian to Zulu, using technology such as videos, social media and mobile apps. Also teaches English as a Foreign Language (EFL) to non-native speakers, such as EFL for Spanish-speakers, EFL for Vietnamese speakers, etc.  (Users will need to create own sign-on and password to access site.)

 

Law

Legal Collection
A collection of scholarly, peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies covering law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics and the environment.

Legal Information Reference Center
Offers everyday users the necessary tools and detailed how-to instructions covering a wide-range of legal issues. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. With the Legal Forms by U.S. State feature, users can search state-specific legal forms by top subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name changes and more.

Legal Forms
Includes business, personal, litigation and federal forms. Covers hundreds of legal subjects and issues for official, state specific, federal, business, personal, real estate and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

Literature

20th Century Poetry (American and English)
Twentieth-Century English Poetry incorporates the works of 285 of the most widely studied poets of the British Isles and beyond. Twentieth-Century American Poetry includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.

Book Review Digest Plus
Book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Retrospective coverage as far back as 1983. More than 270,000 full-text reviews from more than 1,400 American, British, and Canadian periodicals. Suggests grade ranges for children's books.

Essay and General Literature Index
Cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences.

Humanities Full Text
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.

Literary Reference Center
Features author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays, literary reference books and monographs, literary magazines and journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.

Play Index
Covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. Includes new editions and translations as well as descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.

Short Story Index
An essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure. Searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique and source, or by any combination of terms.

WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 86 million records representing the collections of more than 10,000 libraries, over 400 languages, and all types of materials ranging from stone tablets to electronic books.

Maps

MasterFILE Complete
Includes nearly 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.

MAS Complete
For high school students. Contains full text for more than 500 popular high school magazines as well as reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps & flags and color PDFs.

Middle Search Plus
For middle school students. Full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines.

Primary Search
For elementary school students. Full text for nearly 70 popular magazines and a variety of reference materials such as the Encyclopedia of Animals and the American Heritage Children's Dictionary as well as image collection.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Digital Sanborn® Maps (1867-1970) delivers detailed property and land-use records that provide an unparalleled picture of life in American towns and cities. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and often include details on construction materials and building use; and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood.

 

News

Newspaper Archive    ***NEW DATABASE***
Explore billions of newspaper articles from all over the world. Find births, deaths, news and more! Powerful search tools to help you find exactly who or what you are looking for. 

Newspaper Source Plus
A resource offering cover-to-cover full text for U.S., international and regional newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts from major networks.

Religion

Religion & Philosophy Collection
Full text journals content covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Repair

Chilton's Online Auto Repair
Auto tear-downs provided in step-by-step procedures, engine, chassis, electrical, drive train, routine maintenance, suspension work and much more. Includes photos, illustrations and repair procedures.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Information on routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly). Covers all-terrain vehicles; marine/boat motors; generators and other small engines; motorycles; outdoor power equipment; personal water craft, snowmobiles; and tractors.

Recursos en Español

EBSCOhost Español
Bases de datos en español que cubrir información general, negocios, información médica y todos los campos militares y del gobierno.

Fuente Académica
Contenido en texto completo en español de más de 330 publicaciones científicas: Revista de Arquitectura incluyendo, Estudios Sobre Educación, Revista de Estudios Hispánicos, Sociedad Comunicacióny, Revista de Ciencia Política, Historia Revista, y mucho más.

MedicLatina
Una colección en español de la investigación médica y las revistas de investigación publicadas por el reconocido editoriales médicas de América Latina.

ProCitizen (Español)
Preparación para obtener la ciudadanía estadounidense.

Pronunciator (Español)
Cursos para 80 idiomas diferentes. Las clases en vivo, vídeos con subtítulos, música con letras, y clases de ciudadanía en inglé y español.

Referencia Latina
This full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports. The intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers and newswires from 8 Latin American countries.

Salud en Español
Proporciona informes completos basados en la evidencia y hojas informativas en español sobre todos los aspectos de la salud de los consumidores y el bienestar.

Science and Technology

Agricola
Bibliographic records from the U.S. Department Agriculture's National Agricultural Library; more than 2.5 million citations (comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture).

Computer Source
Features nearly 300 full text journals and magazines covering topics such as computers, telecommunications, electronics and the Internet.

Gale in Context: Science
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.


GreenFILE Index
Multi-disciplinary information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment via scholarly, government and general-interest titles.

Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Academic research on classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more.

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 560 journals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection
Nearly 600 full-text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals, covering emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Science and Technology Collection
Scholarly articles on topics such as aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science.

Science Online
Provides science, math, and technology information articles. Watch videos and animations or hear text read aloud.

SciTech Collection Premium
Includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. This database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Texas

Handbook of Texas
A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Digital Sanborn® Maps (1867-1970) delivers detailed property and land-use records that provide an unparalleled picture of life in American towns and cities. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and often include details on construction materials and building use; and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood.

Texas Reference Center
More than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure.

Library of Texas
Searches through the catalogs of more than 100 public libraries, 60 academic libraries and 40 online databases. A service of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

Librarian's Reference Shelf

Directory of Open Access Journals
Indexing, abstracting, and full-text access for selected international scholarly journals in a wide variety of science and the humanities.

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 560 journals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Library of Texas
Searches through the catalogs of more than 100 public libraries, 60 academic libraries and 40 online databases. A service of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

Serials Directory
Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.

Teaching Books.net
An easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 86 million records representing the collections of more than 10,000 libraries, over 400 languages, and all types of materials ranging from stone tablets to electronic books.

© {{YEAR}} Moore Memorial Public Library

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM